+255 788763031 info@tranquiljourneys.tours

About Tanzania: Introduction

The United Republic of Tanzania is a nation in central East Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. The country’s eastern borders lie on the Indian Ocean.

The United Republic of Tanzania is a unitary republic composed of 26 mikoa (regions). The current head of state is President Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, elected in 2005. Since 1996, the official capital of Tanzania has been Dodoma, where parliament and some government offices are located. Between independence and 1996, the major coastal city of Dar es Salaam had been the country’s political capital. Today Dar es Salaam remains the principal commercial city of Tanzania and the de-facto seat of most government institutions. It is the major seaport for the country and its landlocked neighbours.

The name Tanzania is a portmanteau of Tanganyika and Zanzibar. The two states united in 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar, which later the same year was renamed the United Republic of Tanzania.

Quick Facts about Tanzania
Capital Dodoma (moved from Dar es Salaam in 1973)
Government Republic
Currency Tanzanian shilling (TZS)
Area 945,087 km2
Population 37,187,939 (July 2002 est.)
Language Kiswahili or Swahili (official); English (official, commerce); Arabic(in Zanzibar), and many local languages.
Religion Mainland – Christian 30%, Muslim 35%, indigenous beliefs 35%; Zanzibar – 99% Muslim
Electricity 230V/50Hz (Indian or UK plug)
Calling Code +255 (007 from Kenya andUganda)
Internet TLD .tz
Need Help? Chat with us